Academy Council

The Academy Council plays a vital role in the governance and accountability of New Close and is comprised of Governors who want to make a positive contribution to the school community.

Click here to learn more about Acorn and New Close's governance

Meet our Academy Council 

As Council Members, we are also the protectors of its ethos and it is our duty to ensure that every child can achieve his or her full potential in a safe and caring environment.

Mr Ryan Bird - Chair of Academy Council

Ryan lives locally in Warminster and has a background of working in education. He currently works at the University of Reading as the Chief Executive of the Students' Union. Before this, he worked at Oxford University, Bristol University and Weston College. Ryan has been a governor in Westbury for many years and is keen to bring his experience to New Close School.

He is Chair of the Academy Council with responsibility for Maths and Safeguarding.

Mrs Louise Kilminster - Headteacher


Mrs Karen Bannister

Karen is an experienced School Business Manager who joined New Close in 2010. Since becoming part of the Acorn Education Trust, Karen’s role has evolved to help the primary schools across the Trust to standardise their operational systems, to achieve efficiencies in their working practices, and to ensure that they are compliant and functioning in accordance with the needs of the school.

Mrs Charis Turner

Originally from Surrey, Charis has enjoyed working as a teacher ever since leaving Roehampton Institute of Education in 1998. She has taught across the whole primary age range, but her passion lies in Early Years.

Charis is currently working as EYFS leader and teacher of Rabbit Class. With the support of the Acorn Trust, she has helped plan and implement the opening of the Early Years Unit which has nursery (3 years+) children and Reception children working alongside each other in an environment perfect for delivering the Early Years Curriculum.

Charis relinquished her role as SENCO at New Close in order to focus on her Early Years role, but she is now SEND academy council member.